Home LoansFHA Loans

2019 FHA Loan Limits in Arizona

Editorial Note: The content of this article is based on the author’s opinions and recommendations alone. It may not have been previewed, commissioned or otherwise endorsed by any of our network partners.

An FHA loan can be a great way to purchase a home in Arizona, but there are limits to how much you can finance. The U.S. Department of Housing and Urban Development has increased its overall limits for 2019, allowing higher loans for both low- and high-cost areas. Most of Arizona is considered a low-cost area, and FHA loans are limited to $314,827. Flagstaff is the only exception in the state; the loan limit there is slightly higher, at $362,250.

Homeownership in Arizona is slowly increasing; the homeownership rate in the state was 61.7% in 2016 and rose to 64.4% in 2017, according to the Arizona Department of Housing.

A few of Arizona’s counties have median home prices above the national estimated median of $235,000 as of the third quarter of 2018, according to the National Association of Realtors. Maricopa County, for example, is home to Phoenix and has a median home price of $273,000. Coconino County has a median home price of $299,000.

Arizona FHA loan limits by county

FHA Loan Limits in Arizona
County Single-Family Limit Two-Family Limit Three-Family Limit Four-Family Limit Median Sale Price
Apache $331,760 $424,800 $513,450 $638,100 $104,000
Cochise $331,760 $424,800 $513,450 $638,100 $145,000
Coconino $362,250 $463,750 $560,550 $696,650 $315,000
Gila $331,760 $424,800 $513,450 $638,100 $189,000
Graham $331,760 $424,800 $513,450 $638,100 $145,000
Greenlee $331,760 $424,800 $513,450 $638,100 $55,000
La Paz $331,760 $424,800 $513,450 $638,100 $84,000
Maricopa $331,760 $424,800 $513,450 $638,100 $288,000
Mohave $331,760 $424,800 $513,450 $638,100 $157,000
Navajo $331,760 $424,800 $513,450 $638,100 $162,000
Pima $331,760 $424,800 $513,450 $638,100 $223,000
Pinal $331,760 $424,800 $513,450 $638,100 $288,000
Santa Cruz $331,760 $424,800 $513,450 $638,100 $158,000
Yavapai $331,760 $424,800 $513,450 $638,100 $270,000
Yuma $331,760 $424,800 $513,450 $638,100 $143,000

How are FHA loan limits determined?

The U.S. Department of Housing and Urban Development (HUD) sets FHA loan limits based on the conforming loan limit — or how large of a mortgage conventional lenders Fannie Mae and Freddie Mac will purchase. In 2019, that limit is $484,350. The FHA’s “floor” is the largest mortgage the agency will issue in most of the country and is set at $314,827 for 2019.

The FHA “ceiling” applies to high-cost areas and is set at 150% of the conforming loan limit, or $726,525. Outside of a few exceptions, this is the highest mortgage the agency will insure for a single-family home. In other areas, loan limits fall somewhere between the FHA floor and ceiling.

Here are the 2019 standard FHA limits for all property types:

  • One-unit: $314,827
  • Two-unit: $403,125
  • Three-unit: $487,250
  • Four-unit: $605,525

Here are the 2019 standard FHA limits for high-cost areas:

  • One-unit: $726,525
  • Two-unit: $930,300
  • Three-unit: $1,124,475
  • Four-unit: $1,397,400

Do you qualify for an FHA loan in Arizona?

With their relatively low credit score and minimum down payment requirements, FHA loans can be a great path to homeownership for many homebuyers. To find out whether an FHA loan is the right move for you, visit our FHA loan page, which has step-by-step information on how to get an FHA loan and more specifics on FHA loan requirements and rate comparisons.


Compare FHA Loans for Free