Home LoansFHA Loans

2019 FHA Loan Limits in Hawaii

In 2019, the FHA loan limits for single-family homes in Hawaii range from $387,550 in Hawaii County, where it’s mostly rural land, to $721,050 in Honolulu County, Hawaii’s densest county.

Now that you’ve decided to buy a home in Hawaii, you’ve likely given some thought to what type of mortgage would work best for you. There are lots of options, and you’re going to want to check what assistance is available in Hawaii for first-time homebuyers.

Overall, only 0.1% of the nation’s FHA loans in 2018 came from Hawaii. In 2016, the federal government noted that only 6% of all FHA loans came from Hawaii, which they attribute to Hawaii’s unique housing market; the high housing costs mean FHA loans are less popular there. Because of that, the vast majority of Hawaiians pursue conventional mortgages.

Still, it’s worth checking to see if you qualify for an FHA loan for your home, as they have low credit score and down payment requirements and often allow a higher debt-to-income ratio than conventional loans.

In addition, because of Section 214 of the National Housing Act, homes in Hawaii (in addition to Alaska, Guam and the Virgin Islands) may be able to qualify for 150 percent of the federal ceiling, due to high construction costs. This would make the FHA loan limit ceiling $1,089,787 in 2019 (keep in mind, accessing this higher rate requires additional restrictions and documentation).

Hawaii FHA loan limits by county

FHA Loan Limits in Hawaii
County Single-Family Limit Two-Family Limit Three-Family Limit Four-Family Limit Median Sale Price
Hawaii $391,000 $500,550 $605,050 $751,900 $340,000
Honolulu $721,050 $923,050 $1,115,800 $1,386,650 $575,000
Kalawao $690,000 $883,300 $1,067,750 $1,326,950 $600,000
Kauai $713,000 $912,750 $1,103,350 $1,371,150 $599,000
Maui $690,000 $883,300 $1,067,750 $1,326,950 $600,000

How are FHA loan limits determined?

The FHA places limits on the sizes of mortgages it insures. The minimum loan limit is referred to as a floor, while the maximum loan limit is known as a ceiling and represents the largest loan the FHA is willing to insure in high-cost areas.

The baseline conforming loan limit, which dictates how large of a loan Fannie Mae and Freddie Mac will purchase, determines FHA loan limits. In 2019, $484,350 is the national conforming loan limit. This is up from $453,100 in 2018.

$314,827 is the 2019 FHA floor, and it represents 65 percent of the conforming limit. The floor is up from $294,515 in 2018.

The FHA ceiling is 115 percent of the median house price in a certain county or metropolitan statistical area. If the median house price is greater than the $484,350 baseline, the ceiling for a single-unit home is $726,525, or 150 percent of the baseline. This is up from $679,650 in 2018.

Here are the 2019 standard FHA limits for all property types:

  • One-unit: $314,827
  • Two-unit: $403,125
  • Three-unit: $487,250
  • Four-unit: $605,525

Here are the 2019 standard FHA limits for high-cost areas:

  • One-unit: $726,525
  • Two-unit: $930,300
  • Three-unit: $1,124,475
  • Four-unit: $1,397,400

Do you qualify for an FHA loan in Hawaii?

If the mortgage you need meets the FHA loan limit requirements for your county in Hawaii, then the FHA loan might be right for you. To see if you qualify for the loan in other ways — including your credit score, income and amount you have saved for a down payment — check out LendingTree’s FHA page.


Compare FHA Loans for Free